U.S. COAST GUARD AUXILIARY

Flotilla 42, Rochester, New York

MINI BOATER SAFETY LESSON

--------------------------------------


INTRODUCTION:   Flotilla 42 (United States Coast Guard Auxiliary) presents a short mini-lesson on safe boating topics. This mini lesson gives only the minimum training for safety equipment and general information. To obtain a greater knowledge of boating skills and seamanship, we encourage you to attend more in-depth boating courses. There are links below for Flotilla 42 boating courses.

Lesson: ACCIDENT REPORTING

Federal Law
Federal law requires the boat operator to submit a casualty or accident report to the State reporting authority when as a result of an occurrence that involves the vessel or its equipment . If the operator is unable to submit the report then the owner must submit the report.

  • A person dies
  • A person disappears from the vessel under circumstances that indicate death or injury
  • A person is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid
  • Damage to vessels and other property totals $2,000 (lower amounts in some states and territories).
  • The boat is destroyed.
The information you provide is used to establish regulations and safety standards, identify and remedy boat defects, educate recreational boaters, capture statistical data, investigate accidents, and measure the effectiveness of boating safety programs.

New York State Law
If your vessel is involved in an accident in which only property damage occurs, the operator must exchange information with the other parties involved. If the other party cannot be located the accident must be reported to law enforcement as soon as physically able. Failure to do so will result in a violation, resulting in a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $250.

If your vessel is involved in an accident in which personal injury occurs or someone disappears under the water, the operator must exchange information with the other parties involved. If the other party cannot be located or if they are incapable of receiving such information then the accident must be reported to law enforcement as soon as physically able. Failure to comply with these provisions shall be considered:
  • 1st violation – Class B misdemeanor, $250 to $500;
  • Subsequent violations within 5 years - Class A misdemeanor, $500 - $1000.
An accident involving a serious physical injury, death or disappearance in which the operator fails to stop will constitute a Class E felony. Recreational vessels operating in a commercial capacity are not exempt from any of these provisions.

Persons involved in a boating accident in which there was an injury, death, disappearance or damage in excess of $1000, must report the matter in writing to Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation within 5 days of the incident. A violation of this subdivision shall be punishable by a fine of $25 to $100.

Download a Boating Accident Report Form.


New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation
  • Mailing Address:
  •     NYS Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation
  •     Albany NY, 12238

  • Physical Address:
  •     NYS Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation
  •     625 Broadway
  •     Albany NY, 12207



Quiz Questions:
  1. You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals or exceeds how much?
    1. ) You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals $2000.
    2. ) You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals $1000.
    3. ) You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals $300.
    4. ) You do not submit a written boating accident report for damage to property.


  2. You are boating on Lake Ontario just west of Rochester. You strike a dock causing $1,100.00 damage to the structure. Who are you required to report the boating accident to?
    1. ) The United States Coast Guard.
    2. ) The Federal Bureau of Investigation.
    3. ) NYS Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.
    4. ) Contact the local authorities and file a report with them.



Answers follow the information below.


CONTACT INFORMATION  /  REGISTRATION:

If you live in or near the Greater Rochester, New York area, Flotilla 42 offers boating courses for boaters who are interested in boater safety.

If you have any questions about boater safety training or questions about boater safety contact the following Flotilla Staff Officer:

    Jim Herbst,  FSO-PE:  Auxiliary42class@gmail.com

    For information concerning dates and cost, Click Here.

    To register for a boating course, Click Here.

    Information about where we are located, Click Here.



Answers to Previous Questions:

  1. You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals or exceeds how much?
    1. ) You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals $2000.
    2. ) You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals $1000.
    3. ) You must submit a written boating accident report if damage to property equals $300.
    4. ) You do not submit a written boating accident report for damage to property.


  2. You are boating on Lake Ontario just west of Rochester. You strike a dock causing $1,100.00 damage to the structure. Who are you required to report the boating accident to?
    1. ) The United States Coast Guard.
    2. ) The Federal Bureau of Investigation.
    3. ) NYS Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.
    4. ) Contact the local authorities and file a report with them.